A / B Testing

In this type of split testing, two variants of a system or two versions of a website are compared with each other. The purpose of an A/B test is to show which of the different versions is more likely to show the user the desired behavior on the website.

A/B testing tools are among the most important tools in online marketing. They are also used in areas such as software development or web design.

How do the tests work?

For an A/B test, the target group is divided into two random groups - this is a prerequisite for such a test to be conducted.

The test object (in online marketing often the website or an app) is provided in two possible types that differ only in a single component. In this way, different user reactions can be precisely traced back to the component in question.

Relevant reactions for marketing are, for example, orders, contacting, or registrations via CtA buttons.

Therefore, the goals of A/B testing are to increase conversion rates and provide a better website experience.

A/B tests only deliver meaningful results if the group of test subjects is large enough. In addition, a hypothesis or an expected result must be defined in advance for the test to be valid.

Example hypothesis would be: 

"The object under test already causes the intended reaction in the customer. An innovation would lead to confusion."

The test checks whether the hypothesis is true.

The result of an A/B test can also be that none of the variants stands out. This can happen if the changes to the design were not concise enough, the test was too short, or the change did not affect user behavior.

What do I need for an A/B test?

Depending on the scenario, different test tools are recommended. With email marketing tools, newsletters and circulars can be tested for their effectiveness. Here, criteria are defined at the beginning on which to test. The result then shows which variant should be used for further marketing measures.

For A/B testing on a WordPress website, there are numerous plugins that support market research and evaluate data directly.

What else needs to be considered in an A/B test?

Anyone who integrates an A/B test on their website must approach this with caution so that the SEO measures dont get nullified. This is also the reason why the alternative website version of the A/B test should be indexed by search engine robots.

If the indexing is set to cookies, this can lead to worse rankings. Sometimes the cookies and the alternative page are hosted on different URLs. In this case, only the original version is indexed.

However, this method leads to duplicate content. It is better to use the rel=canonical link attribute. However, this only works if the test page and the cookie page are hosted at the same URL. For this, the similar page content must both be properly integrated.

When is an A/B test worth it?

In most cases, meaningful AB tests can hardly be implemented manually. A/B testing tools are needed here, which in turn incur certain costs. Of course, the creation and adaptation of various elements also takes up working time. It is therefore important to weigh up in advance whether a test makes sense.

Successful marketing campaigns usually include several measures to increase conversions. Here, the A/B test should only be the beginning of a series of measurements and tests. If you are not prepared to employ a marketing agency for a longer period of time, you will not benefit from A/B tests alone. Only with enough time, money and a sufficient database (10,000 visitors/ 1,000 conversions have statistical significance) is an investment in A/B testing worthwhile. 

In search engine optimization, you can get meaningful results by applying an A/B test for the user experience. Conclusions can be drawn from this for the content strategy. The evaluation enables an assessment of content and usability.

What details does an A/B test include?

Basically, an A/B test can be used for all marketing measures. For example, this method is used for newsletter campaigns, landing pages or social media ads. It is important to limit yourself to one test element per run. Examples of content and design elements that are suitable for this type of test are: 

  • Images on the landing page
  • Form of address (Voice of Speech)
  • Text of a social media ad 
  • Product images in webshop
  • Navigation design

Are you planning a new advertising campaign or even a relaunch and need help from professionals? We as a SEO and Content Agency support you during the whole process.

    Etiam magna arcu, ullamcorper ut pulvinar et, ornare sit amet ligula. Aliquam vitae bibendum lorem. Cras id dui lectus. Pellentesque nec felis tristique urna lacinia sollicitudin ac ex. Maecenas mattis faucibus condimentum. Curabitur imperdiet felis at est posuere bibendum. Sed quis nulla tellus.

    ADDRESS

    63739 street lorem ipsum City, Country

    PHONE

    +12 (0) 345 678 9

    EMAIL

    info@company.com

A / B Testing

Bei dieser Art von Split Testing werden zwei Varianten eines Systems bzw. zwei Versionen einer Webseite miteinander verglichen. Ein A/B Test soll aufzeigen, bei welcher der verschiedenen Varianten der Nutzer eher das gewünschte Verhalten auf der Webseite zeigt.

A/B Testing Tools zählen zu den wichtigsten Tools im Online Marketing. Sie werden auch in Bereichen wie Softwareentwicklung oder Web Design verwendet.

Wie laufen die Tests ab?

Für einen A/B Test wird die Zielgruppe in zwei zufällige Gruppen aufgeteilt – das ist Voraussetzung damit so ein Test durchgeführt werden kann.

Das Testobjekt (im Online Marketing häufig die Website oder eine App) wird in zwei möglichen Arten bereitgestellt, die sich nur in einem einzelnen Bauteil unterscheiden. So können unterschiedliche Reaktionen der Nutzer genau auf die betreffende Komponente zurückgeführt werden.

Relevante Reaktionen für das Marketing sind beispielsweise Bestellungen, Kontaktaufnahme, oder Registrierungen via CtA Buttons.

Daher sind die Ziele von A/B Tests die Steigerung der Conversion-Rate und ein besseres Website-Erlebnis.

A/B Tests liefern nur dann sinnvolle Ergebnisse, wenn die Gruppe der Testpersonen groß genug ist. Hinzu kommt, dass im Vorfeld eine Hypothese oder ein erwartetes Ergebnis festgelegt werden muss, damit der Test valide ist.

Beispiel für eine Hypothese wäre: 

“Das zu testende Objekt bewirkt beim Kunden schon die gewollte Reaktion. Eine Neuerung würde zu Verwirrung führen.”

Durch den Test wird geprüft, ob die Hypothese der Wahrheit entspricht.

Das Ergebnis eines A/B Tests kann auch sein, dass keine der Varianten heraussticht. Das Ergebnis wäre also 50/50. Dies kann passieren, wenn die Änderungen am Design nicht prägnant genug waren, der Test zu kurz war oder die Änderung das Verhalten der Nutzer nicht beeinflusste.

Was brauche ich für einen A/B Test?

Je nach Szenario empfehlen sich unterschiedliche Testtools. Bei Email Marketingtools können Newsletter und Rundmails auf ihre Wirksamkeit getestet werden. Hier werden zu Beginn Kriterien festgelegt, an denen getestet werden soll. Im Ergebnis wird dann deutlich, welche Variante für weitere Marketingmaßnahmen genutzt werden soll.

Für A/B Tests auf einer WordPress Website, gibt es zahlreiche Plugins, die die Marktforschung unterstützen und Daten direkt auswerten.

Was muss bei einem A/B Test noch beachtet werden?

Wer einen A/B Test auf seiner Website integriert, muss das mit Vorsicht angehen, damit die SEO-Maßnahmen nicht zunichte gemacht werden. Das ist auch der Grund, warum die alternative Webseitenversion des A/B-Tests von Suchmaschinen-Robots indexiert werden sollte.

Wenn die Indexierung auf Cookies festgelegt ist, kann das zu schlechteren Rankings führen. Manchmal werden die Cookies und die alternativen Seite auf unterschiedlichen URL´s gehostet. Hierbei wird lediglich die Originalversion indexiert.

Diese Methode führt jedoch zu Duplicate Content. Besser ist die Nutzung des Link-Attributs rel=canonical. Dies funktioniert jedoch nur, wenn die Testseite und die Cookieseite unter der gleichen URL gehostet sind. Dazu müssen die ähnlichen Seiteninhalte beide richtig integriert sein. 

Wann lohnt sich ein A/B Test?

Meist lassen sich sinnvolle AB-Tests kaum manuell umsetzen. Hier werden A/B-Testing Tools benötigt, welche wiederum gewisse Kosten verursachen. Die Erstellung und Anpassung verschiedener Elemente beansprucht natürlich auch Arbeitszeit. Es ist also wichtig, im Voraus abzuwägen, ob ein Test sinnvoll ist.

Erfolgreiche Marketingkampagnen beinhalten meist mehrere Maßnahmen zur Steigerung der Conversions. Hier sollte der A/B Test nur der Anfang einer Reihe von Messungen und Tests sein. Wer nicht dazu bereit ist, eine Marketing Agentur für längere Zeit damit zu beschäftigen, wird von A/B-Tests allein nicht profitieren. Nur mit genug Zeit, Geld und einer ausreichenden Datenbasis (10.000 Besucher/ 1.000 Conversions haben eine statistische Signifikanz) ist eine Investition in A/B Testing sinnvoll. 

Bei der Suchmaschinenoptimierung kann man durch Anwendung eines A/B Tests für die User Experience aussagekräftige Ergebnisse bekommen. Hieraus können Rückschlüsse für die Content Strategie gezogen werden. Die Auswertung ermöglicht eine Bewertung von Content und Usability.

Welches Details umfasst ein A/B-Test?

Grundlegend kann ein A/B Test für alle Marketingmaßnahmen angewendet werden. Zum Beispiel bei Newsletterkampagnen, bei Landingpages oder Social Media Anzeigen wird auf diese Methode zurückgegriffen. Wichtig ist es, sich auf ein Testelement pro Durchlauf zu beschränken. Beispiele für Content- und Gestaltungselemente, die sich für diese Art von Tests eignen sind: 

  • Bilder auf der Landingpage
  • Form der Ansprache (Voice of Speech)
  • Text einer Social-Media-Anzeige 
  • Produktbilder im Webshop
  • Gestaltung der Navigation

Planen Sie eine neue Werbekampagne oder gar ein Relaunch und benötigen dabei Hilfe von Profis? Wir als Content- und SEO Agentur stehen Ihnen dabei gerne zur Seite.

    Etiam magna arcu, ullamcorper ut pulvinar et, ornare sit amet ligula. Aliquam vitae bibendum lorem. Cras id dui lectus. Pellentesque nec felis tristique urna lacinia sollicitudin ac ac ex. Maecenas mattis faucibus condimentum. Curabitur imperdiet felis at est posuere bibendum. Sed quis nulla tellus.

    ADDRESS

    63739 street lorem ipsum City, Country

    PHONE

    +12 (0) 345 678 9

    EMAIL

    info@company.com